Skip navigation and jump directly to page content

The Classroom: The Foundation for Student Success

Friday, October 12, 2007
The Classroom: The Foundation for Student Success
George Kuh–Chancellor’s Professor and Director, Indiana University Center for Postsecondary Research

Many students today spend a limited amount of time each week on campus. The classroom is the only regular point of contact they have with other students and with faculty and staff members. This means that faculty members must be more intentional about teaching institutional values and using effective educational practices, such as active and collaborative learning activities that bring students together during and after class to work together on meaningful tasks.

In this presentation George Kuh draws on data from the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) and the Faculty Survey of Student Engagement (FSSE) to illustrate how “high-impact” teaching and learning practices enhance student learning and success and increase the odds that more students will persist and attain their educational objectives.

George D. Kuh is Chancellor’s Professor of Higher Education at Indiana University Bloomington. He directs IU’s Center for Postsecondary Research which houses the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) and related projects. He has published about 300 items related to assessment, institutional improvement, and campus cultures. Among his 20 books and monographs are Student Success in College: Creating Conditions That Matter (2005), Student Learning Outside the Classroom: Transcending Artificial Boundaries (1994), Involving Colleges (1991), The Invisible Tapestry: Culture in American Colleges and Universities (1988), and Indices of Quality in the Undergraduate Experience (1981). He serves on the editorial boards of Change and Liberal Education and the National Leadership Council for the Association of American Colleges and Universities ten-year “Liberal Education and America’s Promise” initiative.

Kuh has received awards for his research contributions from the American College Personnel Association, Association for Institutional Research, Association for the Study of Higher Education (past president), and the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators. In addition, he received the Academic Leadership Award from the Council of Independent Colleges, the Virginia B. Smith Award for Innovative Leadership from the National Center for Public Policy in Higher Education, and two honorary degrees (Luther College, Millikin University). His teaching and service have been recognized by NASPA, St. Cloud State University, and the University of Iowa. In 2001 he received Indiana University’s prestigious Tracy Sonneborn Award for a distinguished record of scholarship and teaching.